Day 5 & 6 in CR: Surfing-Ziplining

When: February 23-24th 2017

Airbnb: NIna’s Place Monteverde and Playa Hermosa AirBNB

Day 5

Leaving La Fortuna was painful for me. My friends and I fell in love with the area and the people whom we stayed with especially Mama Mercedes, our AirBnB host. The ride to Monteverde was very scenic. We drove alongside Lake Arenal (the largest lake in Costa Rica) and through the cloud forest.

If you plan to go to Monteverde, make sure you have a 4WD vehicle because the road is unpaved and it’s mostly uphill.

Upon arrival, we met our tour guide and proceeded to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. The zipline tour did not take that long. There were 11 stations plus the optional Tarzan Swing which I highly recommend.

Activities:

  • Zipline Canopy Tour: $50 USD
IMG_9140
view while driving to Monterverde
  • Surfing: $55 USD
CAMERA
My favourite excursion! it was my first time surfing and it was amazing.

Day 6

We woke up to the sound of honking vehicles passing by our hostel. I headed to the verandah and watched the sun rise. It was lovely. After breakfast, we were off to Jaco- a popular surfing destination in Costa Rica’s Pacific coast.

Thank God the drive to Jaco was in a paved road or I would have lost my mind. When we arrived, the tour guides were already there so we quickly changed into our rash guard and surfed. It was one of the best days of my life.

Travel Tip: If it’s your first time surfing, wear swimming shorts. I repeat, wear SWIMMING SHORTS! I kept getting a wedgie every 30 seconds and it was very uncomfortable so learn from my mistake.

Cheers,

Charmel

Leave a Reply

