Day 2 in Costa Rica: White Water Rafting

The next day, I woke up at 5:00 am. I slowly got out of my bed and cautiously walked out of the room towards the communal washroom and got ready. With my backpack that’s half my size, I waited patiently for my tour guide in the hostel lobby…

After 5 minutes, my guide arrived and off we go to Pacuare river. After 3.5 hours, we reached our destination. We started off with the safety talk and then we put on our safety gears. Our guide also taught us how to maneuver the boat, how to turn left or right and what happens if the boat capsizes. It was a lot of information to remember.

The first 5 miles of the river was slow and steady. I admit, I was getting a little bored. I hoped for the boat to flip over to add some excitement to my rafting experience but it never happened. After 2-3 hours of rafting, we stopped over a cliff to have lunch. CAMERA

The next 5 miles of the river was more thrilling. There was one part where our boat got stuck during a 2 meter drop and the boat was getting filled up with water up to my knees. Luckily we survived and yelled: PURA VIDA!

Overall, the excursion was a blast. Our guide recommended that if we wanted more excitement, we should come back in May, during their rainy season, and raft the river again. I think I will…

Cheers,

Charmel

Travel tip #2: Bring bug repellant everywhere you go in Costa Rica. Buy a repellant that is DEET-free, non-chemical, non-toxic, and hypoallergenic.

 

 

Leave a Reply

